The George Washington Award

The George Washington Award

The Joint Committee of Faculty and Students recently accepted nominations for the 42nd annual George Washington Award. Members of the GW community were encouraged to submit names of individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the university in realization of any of the following objectives:

  • Utilization of the university’s historical, geographical, and functional relationship to the nation’s capital and the Washington, DC community;
  • Enhancement and development of students’ abilities;
  • Provision of superior instruction and academic facilities;
  • Provision of a balanced program of student extracurricular activities; or
  • Demonstration of exceptional competence, integrity, and goodwill in the performance of university responsibilities.

Winners of the GW Award were recognized at GW Commencement on the National Mall on Sunday, May 20, 2018.

Liesl Riddle, Andrew Carlander, and Fjolle Caka

Liesl Riddle is Associate Professor of International Business and International Affairs. She serves as a mentor to the university’s inaugural class of Posse scholars, working with them on their academic and professional progress at the university. She also organizes the Posse Plus Retreat, an annual event that brings almost 100 students, staff, and faculty together to discuss issues that confront our campus and the nation. Liesl doesn’t expect accolades for this work, in fact she takes on the extra hours and then says thank you to the university for letting her work with these wonderful students. We thank her for her extraordinary work.

J. Andrew Carlander graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from the GW School of Business. He took on many leadership roles in the business school to the benefit of his peers. His work included launching a professional conference, starting a mentorship program, and co-authoring an undergraduate oath of honor for the business school. He most recently served on the search committee for the new business school dean and we are grateful for his efforts. 

Fjollë Caka graduated with a Master of Professional Studies degree in Sustainable Urban Planning from the GW College of Professional Studies. She distinguished herself as a student leader on sustainability issues, bringing awareness and education on this critical topic to the GW community. She has also promoted human rights and reconciliation in Kosovo. We thank her for her contributions.

Linda Neely Brown (not pictured) is the associate director of Colonial Central at GW. Linda is a mentor to staff, drawing upon her encyclopedic knowledge of the university, which she has amassed over the course of 37 years of service to GW. She also served as part of the group that brought the Yellow Ribbon Program to the university. Perhaps most importantly, she always serves students and families of the GW community with deep care and empathy. We thank her for her exceptional work.

For more details, contact the Division of Student Affairs at [email protected].